Whole Wheat Pancakes

23 May

I’ve been getting bored with the old toast and oatmeal routine lately so I decided to cook up some pancakes to mix things up. And to my surprise I found an amazing pancake recipe! It is a KEEPER! I’ve only made it once, but I don’t think I’ll use another pancake recipe… for a long time. It’s really easy to prepare and you can definitely do your own add-ins when you cook them on the skillet. Here it is…

Whole Wheat Pancakes

Serves 5 (2 pancakes each)

Total Time: ~20 min

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tbsp flaxmeal, or wheat bran, or quick oats (I used quick oats this time)

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg (lightly beaten)

1 1/4 cup buttermilk (or skim milk with 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice)

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp applesauce or yogurt

vanilla (to taste)

Directions:

Combine flour, flaxmeal (or whatever you are using), baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl mix egg, milk, oil, applesauce/yogurt, and vanilla.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and whisk until just combined.

Heat a pan up on the stove and spray with cooking spray (or add some oil or butter to the pan). Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup poor the batter onto the pan. This is when you can use your add-ins. Sprinkle blueberries, dried fruit, nuts, chocolate chips, etc onto the pancakes at this stage. Once the tops have bubbles in them flip the pancakes and let them cook a little longer. Take them off the skillet and ENJOY!

This recipe makes 10 pancakes. If you can’t eat them all at once, wrap them in aluminum foil and refrigerate. The next morning pop them into the toaster and you have pancakes for breakfast again!

Serve them with maple syrup, fruit, yogurt, applesauce, ice cream :), etc.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (2 pancakes):

Calories: 144   Fat: 4.2g (1g saturated)   Fiber: 3g   Protein: 7g   Sodium: 404mg

2 Responses to “Whole Wheat Pancakes”

  1. Norman Regnier January 30, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Sonja

    Loved your whole wheat pancakes. Have you ever had buckwheat pancakes? When I was back in college I tended a few honeybee hives on an old farmstead we rented and they harvested a nearby farmers buckwheat field. The result was that I always would get about 10-12 frames of buckwheat honey. I just remember that sweet deep taste of that dark brown honey…mmm…we would always have it drizzled over buckwheat pancakes to amplify the taste even further. I’m sure you could just substitute buckwheat flour in your recipe. Try it sometime, and don’t forget to find some buckwheat honey also.

    Love your site,
    Stormin Normin

    • smydels May 17, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      Norm! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get back, I haven’t checked the site for such a long time. Now that it’s summer though I’ve got a lot of blogging to do. I have so many pictures that need to be put up! I will definitely try the buckwheat pancakes, I think I’ve had them once at a cafe, but I always like to recreate a dish:) Love you!

Leave a Reply

