NZ Pizza Dough

3 Jun

I actually prefer this dough because it’s faster to make and has less calories overall than the bread machine dough. I started using this recipe when I was studying abroad in New Zealand. I of course didn’t have my bread machine with me so I started making all of my breads the old way; however, contrary to popular belief it’s very easy to make this pizza dough the “old way”.

Ingredients:

First stir

3/4 cup + 2 tbsp warm water

2 1/4 tsp yeast (active dry)

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

After stirring together let stand until yeast dissolves (about 5 minutes). There will be little bubbles on the surface.

*UPDATE (8/15/11): Instead of sugar use honey! The dough rises faster and you’re using a less processed sweetener.. for those who care 🙂

Then add:

1 tbsp olive oil (stir completely to combine)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tbsp cornmeal

Knead the dough until it’s smooth and elastic. Place it in an oiled bowl and turn to coat. Cover and let rise until double in size, about 1 hours time.

        1 hour later:   

After the dough has risen take it out, cut until 2 equal parts and roll out 2 pizzas using cornmeal to ensure the dough doesn’t stick to the rolling pin or your working surface. I find it best to bake my dough for a few minutes while I prepare my pizza toppings so the crust is really crisp.It’s best to heat your oven to it’s hottest, I did mine at 500 degrees. And there is no need to go out and buy a pizza stone, just bake the crusts before adding the toppings, flipping once to get both sides crisp.

Be creative with your toppings: use fruit (pears and blue cheese), cured meats (prosciutto or pancetta), different cheeses, and experiment with olives and specialty items (you don’t need much because they go a long way) that will heighten the flavor of your pizza.

*I made mine without tomato sauce (a white pizza). I used sliced tomatoes, a little drizzle of olive oil, mozzarella and cheddar cheeses, and turkey sausage. All topped off with fresh basil and kosher salt after baking! Yummmmm 🙂

–> I am in LOVE with kosher salt. It’s great to sprinkle over all sorts of dishes. Pizza, egg bake, burgers, etc… try it and I guarantee you will not regret it (if hypertension is an issue for you… obviously shy away from this. Balsamic vinegar on pizza can help replace salt and has very little sodium. Also, try additional spices to increase the flavor of all your cooking).

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (1 whole pizza or 1/2 the recipe):

Calories: 563.5   Fat: 9g (saturated 1.5g)   Fiber: 10.5g   Protein: 17.5g   Sodium: 589mg

Now… for 1/4 of a pizza (or 1/8 of the recipe) the specs are:

Calories: 140.9   Fat: 2.25g   Fiber: 2.6g   Protein: 4.4g   Sodium: 147.3mg

 

Leave a Reply

