Queen Frostine’s Chicken Marinade

20 Jun

This is a Queen Frostine recipe that has been adapted from my Grandpa’s recipe (the only change is using fresh garlic… Queen Frostine wants her name on things 😛 ). My family has grown up using this marinade for our grilled chicken, it is a staple, especially in the summer. If you let it marinate overnight and baste the chicken with the left-over marinade while cooking the flavor will be out of this world! You can feel free to use fresh herbs if you have them just triple the amount you would use for dried… for example: 1 tsp of dried basil = 3 tsp (or 1 tbsp) fresh basil.

I went back up north to visit my family in my hometown, Washburn, WI. Haven’t heard of it? I’m not surprised or offended, but maybe you’ve heard of Bayfield? Or the Apostle Islands (Madeline Island is a major one) on Lake Superior. Anyways… We used this marinade with chicken for my mom’s 55th birthday dinner.. my manly man grilled it to perfection and it was delicious!

Ingredients:

1/3 cup soy sauce (reduced sodium preferred)

1/3 cup oil (olive or vegetable)

1/3 cup red wine vinegar (balsamic may also be used, but it’s more expensive and has a much stronger flavor)

1 1/2 tsp dried oregano

3/4 tsp dried basil

3/8 tsp black pepper

2-4 garlic cloves chopped (or 1/2-3/4 tsp garlic powder)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, add chicken, cover, and refrigerate for 3-24 hours.

This recipe is enough for 4+ chicken breasts. For the birthday bash we used 5… maybe 6 chicken breasts. You can add water if needed. Move the chicken around a few times for an even marination (apparently this isn’t a real word as my spell check informed me… oh well!).

*I’m sure this would be good for turkey breasts as well.

The best way to cook your chicken is on the grill! Baste it with the left-over marinade like I said and you will get something similar to this!

The nutrition facts are for 8 servings. For 4-6 chicken breasts, I assumed, and I usually don’t/can’t eat a whole chicken breast. Also, it’s unlikely that all the marinade is used so it’s kind of a guesstimate (but this is a word… nice, spell check). Don’t fret… it’s healthy enough 🙂 

NUTRITION FACTS:

Calories: 89   Fat: 9g (saturated 1g)   Fiber: 0g   Protein: 1g   Sodium: 352mg

Leave a Reply

