Chicken Sausage with Quick Sauerkraut

27 Jun

I love this recipe! It is easy, healthy, and delicious. I really started getting into it when I was studying abroad in New Zealand. My boyfriend and I would cook meals together and this was one we both liked; there is meat, but it is healthy… it looks like a brat with ‘kraut, it’s extremely fresh tasting, and… it’s cheap!

In New Zealand they really focus on local farmers and the quality of their products reflects that! The chicken sausages we bought were perfect: big 🙂 juicy, full of flavor, and healthy! I have yet to find a product in the States that is comparable, but I’ve got my eyes peeled. I have been using turkey dogs or sausage lately.

I like mine open face on Sonja’s Special (my homemade bread… post coming soon!) with a little bit of mayo and dijon mustard… yummm. This serves 4-6.

I got this recipe from eatingwell.com and changed it just a tad.

Ingredients:

12 oz chicken sausage links (or turkey dogs/sausage… use 4-6 depending on who you are feeding)

1 tsp oil (olive or vegetable)

1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced

1 Granny Smith apple, thinly sliced

1 10 oz package shedded cabbage (or about 4 cups thinly sliced Napa cabbage)

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup apple cider or 100% juice

Directions:

Cook sausages separately until brown on all sides, 2-3 minutes. Transfer to a plate.

Heat oil in a large pan on medium heat, add onion and apple slices.

Cook until starting to brown, a few minutes. Add the vinegar, cabbage, and salt. Cook until the cabbage is starting to wilt, stirring occasionally. Add cider/juice, bring to a boil. Once boiling, add sausages, reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes or until the quick sauerkraut is to your liking.

*I made 4 servings, but there is definitely enough quick sauerkraut to have 6 sausages in there (I did it all the time in NZ). You can save this for a great sack lunch the next day; something different than the regular sandwhich lunch (although there are numerous creative sandwiches out there.. just saying; it’s different, ok!).

Serve open face on wheat or rye bread with a variey of mustards.. like I said, I’m a fan of dijon. Grainy mustard is good too though. You can also stuff it into a whole wheat hot dog bun, your choice!

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (1/4 recipe… not including chicken/turkey sausages)

Calories: 90  Fat: 1g   Fiber: 3g   Protein: 1g   Sodium: 162mg

Add the nutritional specs of your chosen sausage. I decided not to include them because they can vary by up to 100 calories and have different grams of fat. I like to pick a sausage that is no more than 200 calories, don’t forget you are still adding bread to this as well. Overall, this recipe is almost fool-proff againt unnecessary calories and fat.

Once you make this you will once again be reminded that healthy food DOES taste good! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

