Cardamom Bread

29 Jun

  

This was a family favorite when I was growing up; a Queen Frostine creation. You can make 2 loaves out of this. Whenever I make bread I make 1 regular loaf for myself and another for my boyfriend. I usually make him something different like “Bear Bread” (regular bread swirled with cinnamon sugar) or “Pull Aparts”. I usually don’t make this bread, but I experimented with the bread I was giving to my boyfriend and the picture on the right was what I got! Successful experiment I’d say.

The glaze I drizzle over the pull apart version is the same glaze used on the regular loaf. You toast it and spread it with the orange kissed glaze… perrrfect combination with the cardamom. It also goes well with orange marmalade. I can remember when my mom used to make this, the smell will warm your insides (it’s even good on a summer day; it’s not heavy at all). And the glaze is the kicker… don’t try this without it!

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup milk, skim

2 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 tbsp ground cardamom

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 1/4 tsp dry active yeast

2 tbsp orange zest (1 orange), save orange

PULL APARTS:

butter, softened (about  tbsp)

zest of 1/2 orange

Cardamom-sugar (about 4 part sugar, 1 part cardamom)

Directions:

Place ingredients in your bread machine in the order above. I like to put the brown sugar around the edge of the pan as well as the cardamom and salt. Make a small well in the center and add the yeast. You can sprinkle the zest over the top. Set your machine on the dough cycle.

Once the dough is ready, take out the dough, cut into 2 pieces, shape into loaves. Set into 2 bread pans greased (I use cooking spray). Cover with a warm, damp towel and let rise for about 30 minutes (double in size).

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes, until brown on top and is cooked completely.

When the bread is in the oven you can make the glaze. Gradually add the juice of the left-over orange to powdered sugar until you get the desired consistency. I would say start with a cup of powdered sugar…to be honest I don’t measure this part out.

 *That’s what it should look like.

I have a feeling the pull apart bread pictured on the right is the most desired! I don’t blame you.. the best part is you can make a regular and special loaf! I got this idea while I was using StumbleUpon, but I’ve just used the idea the food blogger had.

With one half of the dough roll it out on a cutting board or clean surface with a floured rolling-pin. Roll it out until it stretches the size of your cutting board (mine is about 15×20). Spread with softened butter, zest about 1/2 an orange over the dough, and sprinkle it with the cardamom-sugar. Cut the dough into 6 strips the short way… not lengthwise. Then place the strips on top of each other and cut again into 6 squares. Take each square, with 6 layers, and put into a greased bread pan. Continue with the remaining layers. It will look like this:

  *This is a picture I took while making the cinnamon sugar pull apart bread with a different dough, but it is still what the cardamom pull apart should look like.

Rise like the regular loaf and bake for 25-30 minutes in a 350 degree oven, just like the regular loaf.

Drizzle it with the orange glaze and… pull apart to your hearts desire!

Now… because I didn’t measure, and I probably never will, the ingredients used for the pull-apart I don’t have the specs on them. But here is the nutritional information for the regular bread, which yields 12 slices.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION:

Calories: 98   Fat: 1g   Fiber: 1g   Protein: 3g   Sodium: 159mg

If you just spread the glaze over your toast thinly you’ll still get enough flavor without adding too many calories… don’t worry, enjoy this; it’s delicious! The pull apart is really good for brunch, served warm of course. Not only is it addicting it looks impressive if I do say so myself:)

Leave a Reply

