Caramelized Onion and Bacon Pasta with Grape Tomatoes and Basil

12 Jul

I made this up a few days ago. I wanted to use the fresh basil I have in my container garden; a fresh and light pasta sounded spot on to me. I love just inventing things like this… making something totally your own is so fun! And… if it tastes good I’m really proud. This is one of those!! Granted the name is long, but I didn’t know what to call it. I feel like recipe titles just have the major ingredients in it and aren’t creative, soooo I obviously wasn’t being very creative. Any ideas? Please leave a comment!

Ingredients:

6 oz pasta (SmartTaste) I used Penne Rigate, but I think spaghetti or fettuccine would work too

2 oz turkey bacon (about 6 pieces)

1/2 tbsp butter

1/2 tbsp oil (vegetable or olive)

1 medium onion, sliced

1 cup grape tomatoes, cut in half

Juice of 1 lemon

2 tbsp cooking white wine (or regular white wine)

2-4 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

Kosher salt to taste

Directions:

Cook noodles according to package instructions.

Meanwhile, cook bacon in a large saucepan until crispy. Remove bacon and add oil and butter. Cook onion until it turns a little brown (it’ll caramelize more as you continue).

to –>

Then add the grape tomatoes. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the tomatoes are starting to soften.

Now add the bacon, cook for a few minutes. De-glaze the pan with the lemon and white wine, stirring for a few minutes. Take off the heat and add cooked noodles and basil.

The perfect bite:

*I added a few pinches of salt total to my pasta, but throughout the cooking process.

Separate into 4 servings (a generous cup each) and top with a little grated Parmesan and more basil if you like.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION:

Calories: 231.5   Fat: 7g (sat. 2g)   Fiber: 4.75g   Protein: 9.5g   Sodium: 331mg

Leave a Reply

