Queen Frostine Banana Cake

2 Aug

This is a Queen Frostine recipe. Ever have old bananas? They can get old really fast! If you ask my family, and my bf’s family, I used to be notorious for making banana bread whenever old bananas were around. Even when my bf and I would go out to his sister’s house and babysit… if she had old bananas she would let me use them. I went through a banana bread making phase; a slice is great for a snack or breakfast on the go with fruit and yogurt. However, I like making different things so I’ve been making new things with my old bananas. This is not a new recipe, but I haven’t made it for a while… Queen Frostine would always make it, she has adapted it from The Joy Of Cooking. This is a pretty healthy cake and I like it for a snack .

There are a few ways to present this cake. The recipe makes two 8-9 inch round cakes. If you want to serve them separately you can dust them with confectioners’ sugar, spread on chocolate frosting, or serve them together and spread the bottom layer thinly with yogurt and strawberries (feel free to use bananas, raspberries, jam, peanut butter, chocolate spread… get creative) and then drizzle the top with chocolate or confectioners’ sugar, which is what Queen Frostine usually does for the two-layer cake.

This cake stores well and should be eaten within a week. You can leave it out for a few days, covered, and then refrigerate it to preserve it longer. I like to make this for my roommates…it usually is gone within a week, max!

It doubles and triples easily and freezes well if you don’t want to eat it all just right then. As I said it can be dressed up or down… it just depends on what you want! The ingredient list is prepared a little differently, just because it’s easier to group them like this.

Each cake serves 8

Ingredients:

Prepare:

1 C mashed ripe bananas (2 medium)

¼ C vanilla yogurt, non-fat (I use Dannon Light & Fit) or sour cream

¼ C milk

1 t vanilla extract

Cream:

1/4 C butter (1/2 a stick)

1/4 C vanilla yogurt, fat-free sour cream, or applesauce (pureed pumpkin could even work!)

1 C sugar

2 eggs

Whisk together:

1-1/2 C  all-purpose white flour

3/4 C  whole wheat pastry flour (use regular whole wheat if you don’t have this OR you can use all White Whole Wheat flour… I do this and use Eagle Mills)

½ t baking powder

3/4 t baking soda

¼ tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° and grease two 8 or 9 inch round cake pans.

Fold flour and banana mixtures into the butter/sugar mixture, alternating, in two batches until completely combined.

*OH!! I almost forgot… lick the spoon:) AFTER you spoon the batter into the pans

Spoon the batter evenly into the pans and bake for 20-25 minutes or until done in the center (check with a toothpick). Let cool slightly, then take out of the pans and cool on a wire rack.

Once cool you can either dust them with confectioners’ sugar or spread with chocolate frosting or make a two-layered cake. The choice is yours! I decided to use the cakes separately and dust one with confectioners’ sugar and the other I spread with chocolate frosting I made and froze a long time ago.

This is great served with light ice cream or frozen yogurt and fresh strawberries… however, it’s best served with loved ones. ❤

*Here are a few add-ins to put in the batter before baking that would be nice: nuts (pecans or walnuts), chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, all-spice (for spiced banana cake), rum extract instead of vanilla (or real rum instead of milk!), mini-marshmallows (for the kids… right?), coconut (this can even be sprinkled on top of frosting too)… and anything else you have on hand and want to try!

Here’s a few pictures of how I made the cake in New Zealand:

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (total of 16 servings, 8 servings per cake… before toppings!)

Calories: 156   Fat: 3g (1g saturated)   Fiber: 1g   Protein: 3g   Sodium: 139mg

One Response to “Queen Frostine Banana Cake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banana Cake Balls « Sonja's Special - June 1, 2012

    […] seem sensible so I had the bright idea of making these little banana cake balls. I used Queen Frostine’s banana cake recipe whipped up some random frosting I made up on the spot and mashed it all together! I then rolled […]

Leave a Reply

