Zucchini Fettuccine Alfredo

2 Aug

So I was at the farmer’s market on Sunday and saw some Minnesota grown zucchini and summer squash. I had fettuccine noodles in my pantry that I still hadn’t used and some parmesan cheese… fettuccine with zucchini and white sauce is what came to mind. I used my Mac n’ Cheese recipe as inspiration on how to make the white sauce, which is much like alfredo. I’m not sure if I should call this an alfredo, but it’s what I’m reminded of when I eat so I’m gonna call it that!

Oh.My.God. This is some goooood shit. I honestly had food-gasms while I was eating it and licked my plate clean (duh!). The combination of mozzarella and parmesan cheeses keeps the calorie and fat count down, but still allows for amazing flavor! The zucchini and summer squash add a nice little crunch… a textural difference that a regular Fettuccine Alfredo doesn’t usually have. Garnish the dish with a little grated parmesan cheese and basil and you are in pasta heaven.

Serves 4

Total time: 20-25 minutes

Ingredients:

6 oz fettuccine pasta (I used Garden Delight from SmartTaste)

1 tbsp butter

2 cups chopped zucchini and summer squash, about 2 small-medium (a little more won’t hurt)

1 garlic clove, minced (or more if you like)

1 tbsp flour (all-purpose or white whole wheat)

1 cup fat-free milk

½ cup grated mozzarella cheese

½ cup grated parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Basil for garnish

Extra parmesan cheese for garnish

Directions:

Get all of your ingredients ready: chop zucchini/summer squash, mince garlic, and grate cheeses.

Cook fettuccine according to package instructions.

While the pasta is cooking melt butter in a large skillet. Add zucchini and sauté until still crisp, a few minutes, and then add garlic and cook for 1 minute more. Add flour and whisk for 1 minute (to get the flour taste out of the dish). Gradually whisk in milk and whisk constantly until it starts to thicken, 3 minutes or so.

Add cheeses and stir until just melted. Take the pan off the heat, add the fettuccine and stir until every noodle is covered in deliciousness.

Garnish with my suggested garnishes, always optional, and devour!

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION:

Calories: 302   Fat: 9.75g (5g saturated)   Fiber: 4g   Protein: 17.25g   Sodium: 617mg

*This dish is a great source of calcium providing 35% of your recommended daily dose!

Leave a Reply

